Otolaryngology/Oncology Research Team Claims Research Award

A team of Otolaryngology, Medical Oncology and Radiation Oncology researchers received the Byers Award from the American Head and Neck Society for their presentation at the Combined Otolaryngology Spring Meetings (COSM) in Boston this week. Otolaryngology resident and lead author Joseph Zenga presented the work titled, “Treatment Outcomes for T4 Oropharyngeal Squamous Cell Carcinoma". The list of authors includes: Joseph Zenga, MD; Michael Wilson, BS; Douglas Adkins, MD; Hiram Gay, MD; Bruce Haughey, MBChB; Dorina Kallogjeri, MD; Loren S. Michel, MD; Randal Paniello, MD, PhD, MBA; Jason Rich, MD; Wade Thorstad, MD; and Brian Nussenbaum, MD. The full article can be viewed here.

Dr. Nussenbaum accepted the award from William R. Carroll, MD, George W. Barber, Jr., Professor of Surgery and Director, Section of Head and Neck Oncology at University of Alabama, Birmingham.

The Robert Maxwell Byers Award, in the amount of $1000, is presented for the best clinical or basic science research paper submitted for presentation at the annual meeting of the American Head and Neck Society.

Robert Maxwell Byers, M.D. attended Duke University and the University of Maryland Medical School in Baltimore where he received membership in AOA and the Rush Honor Medical Society. A few years later as a fully trained general surgeon, he went to the Republic of Vietnam with the 1st Marine Division where he received a unit commendation medal and a combat action ribbon. On return to the United States, he spent a year at Quonset Point, Rhode Island Naval Hospital as Chief of Surgery. After discharge from the Navy in 1970, he began a fellowship in Surgical Oncology at the University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center. In 1998, he was honored with the Distinguished Alando J. Ballantyne Chair of Head and Neck Surgery. He is the author of over 200 published papers, book chapters and monographs and has given invited lectures all over the world.