Academic OHNS: Core Principles in an Age of Change

The 2020 Senturia Lecture will be given by:
Howard W. Francis, MD, MBA
Richard Hall Chaney, Sr. Distinguished Professor of Otolaryngology
Chair, Department of Head and Neck Surgery and Communication Sciences at Duke University Medical Center.

Date: Wednesday, December 9, 2020
Time: 7:00AM
Location: Zoom online session, by invitation only.

Ben Harlan Senturia

Ben Harlan Senturia, MD

The Senturia Lectureship was established in 1977 by the St. Louis Otological Foundation.

Ben Harlan Senturia was a native of St. Louis and obtained both his undergraduate degree (1931) and his medical degree (1935) from Washington University. Following his internship and residency at McMillan Hospital, he was appointed to the otolaryngology faculty at Washington University School of Medicine.

Dr. Senturia served in the United States Air Force from 1942 to 1945 and was assigned to the research section of the School of Aviation Medicine where he conducted research in external otitis and noise-induced hearing loss.

Following his military service, he returned to St. Louis to practice and teach. In 1972 he became president of the American Otological Society. He was chosen as guest of honor by the society in 1976 and received its prestigious Award of Merit in 1980.

Senturia Lecturers

2020 – Howard W. Francis, MD, MBA

2019 – Yuri Agrawal, MD

2018 – John L. Dornhoffer, MD, FACS

2017 – Marlan R. Hansen, MD, FACS

2016 – John W. House, MD

2015 – Robert F. Labadie, MD, PhD

2014 – Lorne S. Parnes, MD

2013 – John P. Carey, MD

2012 – Bruce J. Gantz, MD, FACS

2011 – Joseph B. Nadol, Jr, MD

2010 – Lawrence R. Lustig, MD

2009 – Saumil N. Merchant, MD

2008 – Karen J. Doyle, MD, PhD

2007 – Paul R. Lambert, MD

2006 – Dennis S. Poe, MD

2005 – Michael J. McKenna, MD

2004 – Debara Lynn Tucci, MD

2003 – D. Bradley Welling, MD

2002 – Anil K. Lalwani, MD

2001 – Lloyd B. Minor, MD

2000 – Michael M. Paparella, MD

1999 – Richard A. Chole, MD, PhD

1998 – Jens Thomsen, MD

1997 – Mario Sanna, MD

1996 – Malcolm D. Graham, MD, FACS

1995 – William F. House, MD

1994 – Julian M. Nedzelski, MD, PhD

1993 – Aina Julianna Gulya, MD, FACS

1992 – B. Hill Britton, MD

1991 – Mitchell K. Schwaber, MD

1990 – Robert I. Kohut, MD

1986 – Robert A. Jahrsdoerfer, MD

1985 – Bobby R. Alford, MD

1984 – Mansfield F. W. Smith, MD, MS, FACS

1983 – Derald E. Brackmann, MD

1982 – Brian F. McCabe, MD

1980 – William F. House, MD

1979 – Charles D. Bluestone, MD

1978 – Victor Goodhill, MD

1977 – Richard R. Gacek, MD