Patient Care Research

Sharing our expertise: 2024 Combined Otolaryngology Spring Meetings

Faculty and trainees from the Department of Otolaryngology at Washington University School of Medicine will share their expertise in patient care and advancements in research at the upcoming Combined Otolaryngology Spring Meetings (COSM) in Chicago, May 15-19.

The annual meeting brings together the membership of the nine COSM societies, otolaryngology residents and fellows in training, medical students, and allied health professionals for the purpose of disseminating advances in patient care and the latest cutting edge clinical, translational and basic science research.

WashU Department of Otolaryngology contributions included the following.

Panelist/Moderator contributions

Cameron Wick, MD, will serve as a moderator for a scientific session of the American Neurotology Society.

Alex Harbison, MD, will serve as a moderator for a scientific session on cancer biology for the American Head and Neck Society.

Sid Puram, MD, PhD, will serve as moderator for a special session, “Patient Care Debates Part II: Are the Days of Targeted Therapy Over or are the Brightest Days Ahead?

Maithilee Menezes, MD, will serve as a panelist for a discussion on, “Leading cultural humility in clinical and administrative pediatric otolaryngology”

Matthew Shew, MD, will serve as a panelist for a discussion titled, “Ready, set, GPT! Supercharge neurotology now with AI-empowered tools”

Scientific presentations

Facial Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery

Rhinoplasty patient reported outcomes research: A review of the literature
Amrita Hari-Raj, Sai D. Challapalli, Dorina Kallogjeri, Jay F. Piccirillo, Lauren H. Yaeger, and Emily A. Spataro

Head and Neck Surgery

Management of HPV-related head and neck squamous cell carcinoma with unknown primary in the era of treatment de-escalation
Thomas Barrett, Salma Ramadan, Patrik Pipkorn, Paul Zolkind, Jason Rich, Alex Harbison, Anthony Apicelli, Wade Thorstad, Hiram Gay, Peter Oppelt, Douglas Adkins, Ryan Jackson, and Sid Puram

Advances in robotics in head and neck cancer
Ryan Jackson

Going down the rabbit hole: Tumor heterogeneity in head and neck cancer
Sid Puram

Botulinum toxin injection dose changes in a long term cohort of adductor spasmodic dysphonia patients
Randal Paniello

Outcomes of transoral surgery in HPV-negative oropharyngeal cancer
Katherine Chang

Thematic analysis of head and neck cancer survivor small groups on ototoxicity effects on quality of life and barriers to ototoxicity monitoring
David Lee and Judith Lieu

Rare tumors: Update on translational biology and clinical management
Jason Rich, Patrik Pipkorn and Sid Puram


Electrode array position within the scala tympani correlates with hearing preservation
Miriam Smetak, Zachary Douglas, Matthew Shew, Cameron Wick, Jacques Herzog, Craig Buchman and Nedim Durakovic

Impact of social determinants of health on language development and academic achievement in pediatric cochlear implant recipients: Systematic review and meta-analysis
Jay Piccirillo

Intracochlear electrocochleography estimates favorability of intrascalar position with the slim modiolar electrode
Jordan Varghese, Nedim Durakovic, Tim Holden, Matthew Shew, Cameron Wick, Jacques Herzog and Craig Buchman

Electrocochleography-guided pull-back technique of perimodiolar electrode for improved hearing preservation
Amit Walia, Matthew Shew, Amanada Ortmann, Nedim Durakovic, Cameron Wick, Jordan Varghese, Shannon Lefler, Jacques Herzog and Craig Buchman

Qualifying cochlear implant candidates – Does it matter how patients are qualified?
David Lee and Matt Shew

Impact of Meniere’s disease severity on cochlear implantation outcomes
Matt Shew

Pediatric Otolaryngology

Cisplatin drives mitochondrial dysregulation in sensory hair cells
David Lee and Lavinia Sheets


National pediatric acute invasive fungal sinusitis outcomes over a 13-year period
Matthew J. Wu, Marie-Ange Munyemana, and Lauren Roland

Pediatric endoscopic skull base surgery: Safety, efficacy, and lessons learned
Daniel Lander, Kate Dunsky, and John Schneider