42nd Annual Ogura Lectureship

photo of Charles Limb, MD
Charles Limb, MD

The 2024 Ogura Lectureship and Resident Research Day will be held Friday, June 21 at the Eric P. Newman Education Center (EPNEC) on the medical school campus, 7:30 am – 3:30 pm.

Our guest speaker will be Charles Limb, MD, professor and chief, Division of Otology, Neurotology and Skull Base Surgery, Department of Otolaryngology—Head & Neck Surgery and Neurosurgery, University of California San Francisco School of Medicine.

Limb’s research interests include the neural basis of musical creativity, and he has studied music perception in deaf individuals with cochlear implants.

He received his undergraduate degree from Harvard University and his medical degree from Yale School of Medicine. He completed a residency and fellowship in otolaryngology – head and neck surgery at the Johns Hopkins Hospital; a postdoctoral research fellowship at the Johns Hopkins Center for Hearing and Balance; and a second postdoctoral fellowship at the National Institutes of Health.

Limb will provide two presentations:

  • Music for Deaf Ears: Cochlear Implant-Mediated Perception of Music
  • Creativity and the Brain

The full agenda is available here.

About the Ogura Lectureship

Joseph H. Ogura, MD

Joseph H. Ogura, MD, was a member of the Washington University School of Medicine from 1948 to 1982. He served as Lindburg Professor and Head of the Department of Otolaryngology and Otolaryngologist-in-Chief. He was a member of 30 professional societies and held presidencies in the American Society of Head & Neck Surgery, the American Laryngeal Society and the Triological Society.

The endowment for the Ogura Lectureship was established in 1982 in his honor. Support for for the lectureship is raised through his grateful patients, friends, colleagues and graduates.

In 1986, the Resident Research Day was added to this program in appreciation of these outstanding men and women. The work presented by residents represents their research experience, a minimum of three-six months research for all residents or a maximum of two and one half years for those in our Advanced Physician Scholars Program.

Places to Stay

The following hotels are within walking distance of the medical school campus:

DoubleTree by Hilton St. Louis Forest Park

The Chase Park Plaza

Close by, but not walking distance:

Drury Inn & Suites near Forest Park

Past Ogura Lecturers

2023 – Tessa Hadlock, MD

2022 – Amber Luong, MD, PhD

2021 – Ellis Arjmand, MD, PhD, MMM

2019 – Eric M. Genden, MD, MHA

2018 – Michael M. E. Johns, MD

2017 – Richard L. Carrau, MD, FACS

2016 – Richard M. Rosenfeld, MD, MPH

2015 – Richard A. Chole, MD, PhD

2014 – Bevan Yueh, MD, MPH

2013 – Carol R. Bradford, MD

2012 – Jonas T. Johnson, MD

2011 – Robin T. Cotton, MD, FRCSC

2010 – Jeffrey N. Myers, MD, PhD

2009 – Michael G. Stewart, MD

2008 – Patrick J. Gullane, MB, FRCSC

2007 – Gregory T. Wolf, MD

2006 – Robert W. Bastian, MD

2005- Randal S. Weber, MD

2004 – Gerald B. Healy, MD

2003 – Jennifer Rubin Grandis, MD

2002 – Wolfgang Steiner, MD

2000 – Marshall Strome, MD, MS

1999 – Jesus Medina, MD, FACS

1998 – K. Thomas Robbins, MD

1997 – Gordon B. Snow, MD

1996 – Willard E. Fee, Jr, MD

1995 – Roger L. Crumley, MD

1994 – John A. Kirchner, MD

1993 – David E. Schuller, MD

1992 – Charles J. Krause, MD

1991 – H. Bryan Neel III, MD, PhD

1990 – Bryon J. Bailey, MD

1989 – Charles W. Cummings, MD

1988 – Patrick J. Doyle, MD

1987 – Hugh F. Biller, MD

1986 – Roger Boles, MD

1985 – Eugene N. Myers, MD

1984 – Paul H. Ward, MD

1983 – John J. Conley, MD

1982 – Max L. Som, MD